Downloading and uploading translations¶
You can export files from a translation, make changes, and import them again. This allows working offline, and then merging changes back into the existing translation. This works even if it has been changed in the meantime.
Available options might be limited by access control settings.
From the project or component dashboard, translatable files can be downloaded in the Files menu.
The first option is to download the file in the original format as it is stored in the repository. In this case, any pending changes in the translation are getting committed and the up-to-date file is yield without any conversions.
You can also download the translation converted into one of the widely used localization formats. The converted files will be enriched with data provided in Weblate; such as additional context, comments or flags. Several file formats are available via the Files ↓ Customize download menu:
带有 gettext 扩展的 XLIFF
Excel Open XML
When you have made your changes, use Upload translation in the Files menu.
Any file in a supported file format can be uploaded, but it is still recommended to use the same file format as the one used for translation, otherwise some features might not be translated properly.
The uploaded file is merged to update the translation, overwriting existing entries by default (this can be turned off or on in the upload dialog).
These are the choices presented when uploading translation files:
- 添加为翻译 (
Imported translations are added as translations. This is the most common usecase, and the default behavior.
Imported translations are added as suggestions, do this when you want to have your uploaded strings reviewed.
Imported translations are added as translations needing edit. This can be useful when you want translations to be used, but also reviewed.
Existing file is replaced with new content. This can lead to loss of existing translations, use with caution.
Updates source strings in bilingual translation file. This is similar to what 更新 PO 文件以匹配 POT 文件 (msgmerge) does.
- 添加新字符串 (
Adds new strings to the translation. It skips the one which already exist.
In case you want to both add new strings and update existing translations, upload the file second time with Add as translation.
This option is available only with 管理字符串 turned on.
Defines how to deal with uploaded strings which are already translated.
Strings needing edit¶
There is also an option for how to handle strings needing edit in the imported file. Such strings can be handle in one of the three following ways: “Do not import”, “Import as string needing edit”, or “Import as translated”.